Scrap that web comic?

2 Sep

It has been a long time since I posted something to read on this blog. At least, it feels like it. Since I started the web comic and, probably most of all, a personal goal to get into shape for a marathon by the end of this year, all my energy seems to go into that.

What bugs me the most about my web comic is that I’m so self-conscious. With that I mean I don’t just create something, but think heavily about what people are going to think about it. That may sound sensible, but it’s not. It’s keeping my creative ideas hostage.

This is exactly what I was afraid of. People told me: “If you want to do a web comic, just create one, don’t think too much about it.” Bad advice. For me at least. Now I’m stuck with that web comic.

I’m reading Orson Scott Card’s excellent book, titled “How To Write Science Fiction & Fantasy.” It’s not so much a recipe book, but more a book about how to approach the creative process of writing novels, with a focus on speculative fiction. He has some great advice on ripening ideas:

The first thing you should learn […] is that no two stories are developed in exactly the same way. However, in my experience one thing is constant: Good stories don’t come from trying to write a story the moment I think of the first idea. All but a handful of my stories have come from combining two completely unrelated ideas that have been following their own tracks through my imagination. And all the stories I was still proud of six months after writing them have come from ideas that ripened for many months—usually years—between the time I first thought of them and the time they were ready to put into a story.

“Great,” you say, “I pick up this book, hoping to learn how to write speculative fiction, and now this guy’s telling me that I have to wait months or years before writing stories about any new ideas I think of.”

That’s what I’m telling you: You’ll probably have to wait months or years before writing good versions of story ideas you come up with now. But you probably already have hundreds of story ideas that have been ripening inside you for many years. For some writers, one of the best ways to help an idea ripen is to try writing a draft of it, seeing what comes up when you actually try to make it into a story. As long as you recognize that the draft you write immediately after thinking of the ideas will almost certainly have to be thrown away and rewritten from the beginning, you’ll be fine.

That’s just dandy! I wished someone told me that earlier. Since I’ve only started this thinking about stories this year, and reading other people’s stories has been limited by no access to them other than buying online, I have little reading experience as well.

So what should I do, start all over or muddle through? I’m tempted to put it on indefinite hiatus until I’ve found a good way to express my ideas.

2 Responses to “Scrap that web comic?”

  1. Michael September 4, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    It is really up to you. I enjoy reading what you have done so far.

    So long as you do continue to create a comic.

    Publishing it will be up to you…

    ArrrOOoo!

    • Rene September 4, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      I really need some time alone with the comic, to develop the characters and a story. Not to complete it, but just enough to have a little buffer and a general idea what it’s about.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

