Doing NaNoWriMo this year!

29 Oct

I’m participating in the National Novel Writing Month challenge this year, which will be held in the month of November 2011. The goal is to write 50,000 words, resulting into a first draft of a novel.

I have no plan, no environment, no plot, no characters, only a vague idea. As I write this blog post, I have about two days left to come up with something of an idea.

I don’t expect the result to be any good; I expect it to suck, big time. But that’s ok, because it’s about writing 50,000 words in a month, not about redrafting and making it ready for publication. That would take at least six months, I guess (I never written a book, so I don’t know). I think that almost nothing of what I write in this first draft will survive the editing process. I don’t even expect the final result to be in the same genre!

Since it’s about volume, bulk, I don’t care about these things. I’m excited, because my novel can become whatever it wants to be, not what I will it to be. Usually, when I write a blog post about a subject I care about deeply, it turns out crap, because I want it to be perfect. I should avoid such subjects like the plague. I suppose this applies to novel writing as well.

I will be using Scrivener as my writing tool. Especially the project targets window seems important to get me through the challenge. It’s 1667 words per day, every day, after all. I’ll be setting my initial target at 2000 words per day, so I’ll have some leeway at the end.

Anyway, I’ve created a novel entry, with the provisional title “Evil Lurks Upstairs”, in the provisional genre mystery, thriller and suspense. My NaNoWriMo page can be found here.

All this means that I won’t be posting much on this blog during the next month. Not that I’ve been posting much anyway. I was preoccupied with preparing myself for a marathon road race in December 2011.

Ooh, the challenges we set for ourselves. They seem so unattainable, so unrealistic: A first draft of a novel in a month and getting into to shape to finish a marathon race.

Ah well, such is life. We try hard, hoping something will ultimately stick.

Thanks for reading!

2 Responses to “Doing NaNoWriMo this year!”

  1. Michael October 30, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Good luck! I wish I had the writing chops to attempt this but I find that trying to sketch and draw a panel a day is enough of a challenge for the moment.

    I will be following you through the usual social media so consider me one of those road side supporters at one of your races!

    ArrrOOooo!

    • Rene October 31, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      Thanks!

      The reason I participate in NaNoWriMo is to develop writing chops, or storytelling abilities. One of those is putting yourself in the chair and write.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

