2 + 4 Feet running, or how a podcast saved my life

29 Nov

Back in April 2008, Dan from the 4FeetRunning Podcast started a ten in ten challenge among friends, in order to lose 10 pounds in 10 weeks. At that time I weighed 96 kg (212 pounds) and was motivated by Dan to lose weight as well.

So, Dan from 4FeetRunning, from the bottom of my heart, thank you for putting that idea into my head!

At this moment, I’m weighing 79 kg (174 pounds), which means I have lost 38 pounds in 35 weeks, which is an extended version of 10 pounds in 10 weeks. I expect to weigh 63 kg (139 pounds) by the end of September 2009, in other words, to lose yet another 35 pounds in 44 weeks. This would give me a healthy body mass index (BMI) of 20.8.

Although Dan didn’t succeed in his attempt (he may still do it, though), he motivated me to change my lifestyle. I now eat less, yet healthier, and exercise more (I run 5 or 6 times a week). On the last Sunday of April of this year I had to push myself to run a 10 K distance in 54 minutes and a few seconds. Now I’m able to run the same distance in 44 minutes, with ease.

I have expressed my gratitude a few times to Nick and Dan, by commenting on their blog, and telling other people how wonderful their podcast is. Production quality-wise it is not the greatest podcast on earth, but both Nick and Dan are down to earth, and share their experience with us, the listener. They tell it like it is and don’t pretend. That is how podcasting should be. “Content is king,” as Rob Walch, podcaster of the first hour used to say in his Podcast411 podcast.

That is all.

