Telling a story while drawing

21 Dec

Today I learned an important lesson. The internal dialogue, Bert Dodson was writing about in his book “Keys to Drawing” can go much further. Aside from what you’re drawing at this moment, you can have a higher level discussion with yourself about what you want to convey with your drawing, what your intent is.

I’ve started to read “Character Animation Crash Course” by Eric Goldberg, which inspired me to draw some poses. There is something wrong with my approach, but I didn’t know what.

Kitty cartoon 002

The next drawing learned me something about storytelling, the internal dialogue, as Bert Dodson refers to it in “Keys to Drawing”.

As you can probably tell, this drawing was drawn from memory. However, I was listening to the Tech Guy, and I was having an internal dialogue, about both the details of the drawing and the effect I wanted it to have (the story behind the drawing).

Leo Laporte

Now, that means that you always need to think about what you want to draw, what message, idea or emotion (or a combination of these three) you want to express with your drawing. Simply drawing without intent is draining all life out of your drawing before you even started. It’s a mission that can only succeed after many revisions. It is making it unnecessarily hard on yourself, while a bit of thinking in advance could have prevented that.

Think then act.

That is all.

