Soup mug and old sketches of mugs

30 Jan

This tiny sketch of a soup mug was a revelation to me, because it showed that I’m really going in the right direction with my craft.

Yes, the sketch is a bit rough, and there were some errors, but the overall impression is good (enough).

Every time I needed to put something on paper, or correct something, I used the real subject, and didn’t try to reason how to best do the drawing. I know now, that this behavior can (and will) lead to criticizing your drawing before it is finished. Keep looking at the subject and let it do the talking.

Soup mug

And then it is always good for your ego, and your motivation to pursue the road you’ve taken, to compare old drawings with recent drawings. This was an assortment of little sketches on an A5 pieces of paper.

Assorted sketches of mugs months ago

I can still see my impatience in the recent drawing, although it’s clearly less than in the frantic sketches in the older drawing. I need to take more time to put it onto paper. My brains can take in information only that fast, and no faster. Any faster, and I’m starting to see things that aren’t there. We don’t want that just yet.

That is all.

