Sleeping cat

11 Feb

I was looking for a subject to draw blind. After having drawn my cup of coffee, I saw my cat lying fast asleep on the couch. Quickly, yet carefully not to wake the cat, I rolled my office chair towards it . Soon I was busy drawing comfortably perched on the chair.

As expected, the first contour sketches were not particularly exact, though the lines were lively enough.

Sleeping Cat - Drawn blind

Then I decided to draw a contour sketch on a blank piece of paper, and use it to draw a more detailed sketch of the cat.

Sleeping cat

I needed approximately 20 minutes for this sketch. I had a bit of luck, because soon after I had completed the sketch, the cat turned its head. I like it when my subject cooperates, even if my subject is deep asleep.

That is all.

