Drawing Leo Laporte, part 10

17 Feb

I was wondering why I had such a hard time drawing from the TWiT Live stream. Was it because the stream went so fast, and Leo Laporte can’t really sit still, or was it something I did wrong? I suspected the latter, but what was I doing wrong?

Here are some sketches I made on February 15, 2009 during The Tech Guy, just before the Stickam feed “blew up”, and TWiT Live was off the air for two days. Still, I got 30 minutes of solid drawing time.

Drawing Leo Laporte - TTG 2009-02-15-a Drawing Leo Laporte - TTG 2009-02-15-b

There were some sketches that were reasonably good, but it was a bit of a hit and miss.

Here is what I did today. I sketched for more than an hour, both part of the prerecorded This WEEk in TECH show of Sunday February 15, 2009, and whole of the MacBreak Weekly live stream of today, Tuesday February 17, 2009.

Drawing Leo Laporte - TWiT 2009-02-17-a Drawing Leo Laporte - TWiT 2009-02-17-b

I took a little break after TWiT, and saw that the sketches in which I started with the contours of the face (the largest shape) where the best. What if I tried that and see if I could draw both Leo and his studio co-host on MacBreak Weekly.

Drawing Leo Laporte - MBW 2009-02-17-a Drawing Leo Laporte - MBW 2009-02-17-b

Although it is still off model, it resembles the actual people more than when I drew the eyes, nose and mouth first. I guess drawing the larger shapes first, and only then draw the smaller shapes is really more effective.

It is a hoot to draw Leo Laporte, because he is so energetic. If he is having fun, I’m having fun, because that is what I draw. As long as he keeps putting out shows, I’m keep drawing him, and so doing improving my drawing skills.

That is all.

