Archive | 12:21 pm

Very quick sketches

18 Feb

The idea behind this exercise was to memorize shapes and draw them onto a piece of paper. The subject was my Bengal cat, Rasheed.

In the first three sketches, in the upper part of the piece of paper, I took less than 30 s to draw Rasheed while he was grooming his coat. The shapes are still reasonably well defined. You can see what the subject is, more or less.

If you shorten the time to draw even more, as is shown in the lower part of the piece of paper, where I only had a few seconds to draw, the shapes get a bit “wonky” or wobbly. You hand simply can’t keep up with your eyes. The best you can do is indicate where the big shapes are and hope for the best.

Very quick sketches

I’m not sure what that means, but it has to mean something. I just have to explore what.

That is all.

Drawing an office chair

18 Feb

I decided to draw an office chair and see how my chops are at still life. Aside from the fact that the proportions are way off, the drawing is pretty good. The back rest is too big in comparison to the seat.

Office chair drawing

Some initial measurements wouldn’t be bad next time.

Office chair

Actually, this a good example of drawing multiple lines for the initial drawing (a key point in “Keys to Drawing” by Bert Dodson. While the proportions might be off, if you see the back rest and seat separately, this is a fine drawing for my skill level.

Again, I learned something. You need to analyze your subject before you start drawing, to get the general proportion somewhat correct.

That is all.