Drawing Leo Laporte, part 15

14 Mar

This sketch was a test if I could free draw Leo Laporte from a screenshot taken during The Tech Guy radio show on March 14, 2009.

Normally I would painstakingly measure the dimensions of the photo and transfer those in the frame of my drawing. This gives me points of reference for both what’s in the photo and the drawing. This time I wanted to see if I’m already shape aware enough to forgo that strategy.

Drawing Leo Laporte - TTG 2009-03-14

Judging from the result, I’m clearly not yet ready. The likeness is poor, to say the least. Alas, it means I have still a lot of practice ahead before I can draw people in real life, while they are posing for me.

The drawing was done, as usual with HB pencil on 120 g/m2 drawing paper in roughly 90 minutes.

That is all.

