Roughing it

18 Mar

I wanted to know if I could create a rough sketch of a photo, as if I were drawing at the position the photographer was standing. If I’m ever to draw people life, I should be able to draw rough sketches reasonably accurate.

Roughing it

To check what was wrong with my rough sketch, I put the original photo for educational purposes on top of the rough sketch.

Rough sketch compared to photo

I guess I have to improve my skill of putting things where to are supposed to be, relative to other things. In other words, I have to get better at estimating angles, volumes and negative spaces.

This is worthy of several rough sketches, which I will do today. Hopefully, by the end of the day, I will have learned a new skill, or, at least, improved a skill I already had.

That is all.

