Loes Nuijten and Anna van Ruiten

29 Mar

(WIP – work in progress, to be continue at a later date)

Two students of a theater school had their exams lately. My free local newspaper had an article on them. You can see their photo here:

Anna van Ruiten (L) and Loes Nuijten (R)

I tried a few sketches, but I couldn’t get it right. This is the best sketch of the two ladies I have so far. Notice that the mouths are 1/3rd of the height of the face in the sketch, while in the photo it is clearly more like 1/4th.

Loes Nuijten and Anna van Ruiten, sketch 1

I guess this is going to take a while to get it just right. It is a difficult pose to draw.

At some point, I had enough of it. What was making this so hard to draw? So, I decided to trace the photo in Art Rage 2, and see how a trace differs from both the photo and what I have been drawing so far.

Loes Nuijten and Anna van Ruiten, sketch 2

As you can see, I had it almost right in sketch 1, but the poses are so subtle, that even the slightest deviation destroys the illusion of likeness. And even the traced drawing misses some of the likeness. It is clear to me that the drawing needs a much more subtle approach than I’m able to give with my current skills.

Anyway, I will use this and see if I can come up with a better sketch.

The best strategy to make these ladies look anything like on the photo I can come up with, is to learn to draw each girl separately, then next to each other. I guess that indeed means I have to draw a lot of sketches before I get that magical look-a-like. I also want to try drawing them in each other’s place, so Loes will be standing on the left of the drawing and Anna on the right. If I can do that, I know I have mastered the skill of making drawings resemble the original.

Here is Loes Nuijten. I still am having problems with her foreshortening. I’m not yet satisfied with it, but it’s much better than before. On the other hand, if I compare this drawing with the traced drawing, I can see I have still a long way to go before I can call this one good enough.

Loes Nuijten - sketch 3

I will first try to draw more human figures before I continue with this project.

That is all.

One Response to “Loes Nuijten and Anna van Ruiten”

  1. Aveen March 29, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    I’ve lately been wondering the exact same thing. I just can’t ‘do’ faces at all – it’s so bad that my drawings from life drawing class are bodies with no faces at all! I’ll be keeping an eye on your blog to see how you get on… and hopefully making myself practice too.

Comments are closed.

