Quantum Leap

30 Mar

I loved the Sci-fi tv series “Quantum Leap” with Sam and Al. I found a dvd cover via Google Image search and started with the lettering. It is still a bit rough, but because the whole drawing is going to be rough, I guess that is a good thing.

Quantum Leap lettering

I first penciled the letters, eyeballing from the full display of the poster image file on my computer screen. Then I inked the pencil drawing. I corrected the worst mistakes with some old-fashioned correction fluid (used for typewriters).

I want to color the ink drawing on the computer, probably with some cel shading.

Next I penciled in the actors, Dr. Samuel Beckett (played by Scott Bakula) and Al Calavicci (played by Dean Stockwell) in about an hour.

Quantum Leap - pencil sketch

The size of the drawing is around 18 by 26 cm (width, height), so there’s not much room for details. I guess it means I can only do a rough drawing. If I wanted to add more details, I would need to use a considerably bigger piece of paper.

I will continue working on this tomorrow.

That is all.

