Study of Spock from Star Trek 2009

1 Apr

I clearly am a novice at drawing faces. Drawing Spock of the upcoming movie Star Trek (the eleventh in the sequel of movies) proved that once and for all. I drew the eyes too high among other things, which is a good indication that you’re a novice draftsman.

Of course, I shouldn’t be too surprised, because I only started drawing in January of this year, so I can’t really expect to be able to draw as good as someone who has been drawing faces for years and years. I should cast my hubris and accept my humble role as a newbie at drawing.

So, how about my sketch? Well, here it is, with all kinds of notes added to it. I hope it’s not too technical for you.

Study of Spock from Star Trek 2009

Spock is looking straight at us, but his face is a bit rotated in the horizontal plane (to his left, our right). This causes some foreshortening in the face. Furthermore, the horizon isn’t at eye-level (the level of Spock’s eyes), but slightly below his eyes. I guess this is for cinematic effect, making him larger than the observer (that would be us), somewhat bigger than life.

Anyway, here as some rules of thumb I found in this face:

  • space between the chin and top of the upper lip is 1/4 of the height of the head
  • space between the chin and lower eyelid is 1/2 of the height of the head
  • space between the chin and bottom of the nose is 1/3 of the height of the head
  • space between the bottom of the lower lip and the top of the upper eyelids is 1/3 of the height of the head
  • the line through a mouth corner and the edge of the pupil at the side of the nose is vertical for each side of the face (provided the person looks forwards)

I tried to find a rule of thumb for the inner eye corners and the nose, but there doesn’t seem to be a simple rule, probably because the corners of the mouth and eyes are more or less in the same horizontal plane, while the nose sticks out of this plane. The same applies to the parts of the lips that stick out of the face (because of the teeth pushing them outwards). I guess that means you have to eyeball (read: draw blind) those features.

Before I attempt a drawing of Spock, I should look into the anatomy of the face, to check if what I have found isn’t too anecdotal, but applies to most adult people.

That is all, for now.

One Response to “Study of Spock from Star Trek 2009”

  1. Kate (Cathy) Johnson April 1, 2009 at 3:04 pm #

    What a great idea, to use this as a learning tool for yourself! Brava!

Comments are closed.

