Drawing Unknown Faces, part 8

3 Apr

While I was sketching this man I realized I have learned so much in the past few weeks. I’m now able to see my mistakes and prevent some of them. Even so, I still need my trusty kneaded rubber eraser now and then.

I like the puzzled look and pose in this man. I wish I was also able to portray the wittiness that jumped off the reference photo. I guess subtle expressions are hard to capture and need a lot of practice.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 8

I only needed 30 minutes for this sketch. It surely isn’t the pinnacle of my art, but I have learned a few things, for instance, how a mustache curls around the corners of the mouth. I also did approximate the width and height of the face much better than last week, and did a lot of “blind drawing” (drawing without looking at your sketch).

I don’t feel confident enough yet to draw real life people, but I’m slowly getting at a point where I can muster enough courage to start doing that. I’m sure that will both boost my morale and improve my art.

This drawing is based on a photo from the Flickr public timeline.

I added a comment on the photo’s Flickr page, to tell the photographer I liked the capture. I guess I have to do this from now on, because I more or less depend on the contributions of people I don’t know. I should at least thank them for supplying me with such great reference material.

That is all.

3 Responses to “Drawing Unknown Faces, part 8”

  1. delph April 3, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

    Fine drawing! You made him very lively and expressive. I should do that too, work on doing faces, I agree it’s very difficult – but you’re doing great!

  2. Rene April 3, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    Well, thanks. I guess I have still some sketches to go before I reach number 999.

  3. Joanne April 6, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    Nice drawing. Dedication makes all the difference

Comments are closed.

