Drawing Unknown Faces, part 15

4 Apr

These two female students clearly were partying when this photo was taken. The joy jumps off the photo. I even could strengthen the expression in the girl on the right.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 15

The sketch took only 35 minutes, but I had studied it while I was taking a break from an earlier sketch, by seeing the photo on the computer screen, each time I walked by. I guess there is a point in first studying your subject before you even pick up your pencil. The temptation to just start drawing should probably be resisted until you have a clear idea in your mind how to put the drawing on paper, design, line quality, etc.

This sketch is based on a photo from the Flickr public timeline.

That is all.

One Response to “Drawing Unknown Faces, part 15”

  1. Kate (Cathy) Johnson April 4, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    This one cracks me up! You really captured the moment…

Comments are closed.

