Drawing Unknown Faces, part 27

9 Apr

I had to have another go at this drawing of children. Those cute eyes are so, well cute, that my eyes are drawn to them, no matter what. So I tend to draw them too big, or overcompensate by drawing them too small.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 27

I tried another approach, by squinting my eyes and look where the overall locations of the shapes were. This also seems to suppress the inborn tendency for seeing cuteness instead of what’s really to be seen. This worked much better than drawing with open eyes the whole session.

Of course, there were obligatory mistakes, like the forehead not tall enough and the chin too close to the nose. Those are easy to correct, though.

This sketch is based on a photo grabbed from the Flickr public timeline.

That is all.

