Drawing Unknown Faces, part 54

17 Apr

To revigorate my drawing, I began reading “Sketchbook for the Artist” by Sarah Simblet. She explains that a drawing is an expression of how you see the world, rather than a technically correct representation of the world. Once you get lost in the technicalities of drawing, your art loses life and gets boring and predictable. I guess that was has crept in my artwork lately.

So, re-energized with this knowledge, I started to look at this photo and decided to depict the curious nature of this toddler. His extended hand gave me this expression.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 54

Now, there was some extreme perspective in the photo, demonstrated by the fact that part of the body was out of focus. This means the photographer was quite close to his or her subject. However, I overdid it a bit, and drew the toddler’s head too small in proportion to the extended hand.

Was this wrong? No. In fact, it strengthened my notion that the hand was the most important part of this drawing. I need to learn to let go of the assumed requirement that my drawing should have a striking resemblance with the reference photo. That wouldn’t be art, but merely copying reality. There are much better tools for that, called cameras. I think I shouldn’t bother myself with that part of visualization, at least not while I’m drawing.

This sketch was made in 30 minutes with an HB pencil. It is based on a photo I grabbed from the Flickr public photo stream.

That is all.

One Response to “Drawing Unknown Faces, part 54”

  1. tenpoundhammer April 17, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    Good Drawing, the proportion of the head is slightly distracting which may take a way from the effect you are trying to transfer. As always interesting analysis.

Comments are closed.

