Drawing Unknown Faces, part 77

25 Apr

This sketch was drawn sort of naively, without much measurements. It means the pose isn’t really like in the picture. Furthermore, I had to make the ear somewhat larger, almost at the end, because it turned out too small in proportion to the rest of the face. It is the fine-tuned seeing of exact proportions that is still lacking in my drawings. I’m getting there, though.

Drawing Unknown Face, part 77

I must admit I’m still a bit puzzled by Bridgman’s description of drawing the masses of the head. I guess I have to do a lot more study and draw numerous faces before I start to see those masses more clearly. Rome wasn’t built in a day, and so will I need time to learn to see beneath the skin of a face. It is this intuitive knowledge I’m after, which enables you to “feel the form”. I guess you only get this visual knowledge by merely drawing a lot of faces.

That is all.

