Archive | 11:53 pm

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 123

4 May

This boy had a somewhat perplexed expression in his face, like he was photographed without his permission. I’m glad I could put that expression in the sketch.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 123

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 122

4 May

I searched for hippie woman and got this result. I decided to give her an angelic appearance with very careful and deliberate pencil strokes.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 122

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 121

4 May

This sketch started as a photo I found through zFlick and used to create a pencil sketch. After scanning the sketch, I reduced the number of colors to two, white and black. Next I deleted the white color, added a white background and colored the hair (gray), skin (dark pink), lips (reddish dark pink), and shirt (muted green) in a separate layer.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 121

The whole procedure took an hour and forty minutes. I’m quite pleased with the result.

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 120

4 May

I tried another drawing technique on this photo I found through zFlick. I drew the big lines inside the face first before drawing the outline of the face. Unfortunately, I had to redo the mouth. On the other hand, that was a good thing, because I hadn’t drawn the mouth correctly.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 120

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 119

4 May

I found an Adobe AIR program called zFlick. It runs under Windows, Mac OS X or Linux Desktop OS with Adobe AIR as a program. The program allows you to do a word search on the Flickr website and pick one of the thumbnail image results, which you can drag to your desktop.

I entered “pretty woman” and I liked one of the resulting thumbnails and used it for the next sketch. I’m sure I’m going to use zFlick more often.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 119

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 118

4 May

The first drawing of today. I think, although they usually tend to be of lesser quality, the quality of these early drawings get higher every day.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 118

That is all.