Archive | 11:38 pm

Drawing Unknown Faces, parts 126 and 127

5 May

The woman in the photo was sketched using the method by Bridgman (sketch the outlines of the head with quick straight lines and indicate where the features will be drawn). That went surprisingly well. I could spend some more time on her coat, which was a blast to do.

Drawing-Unknown-Faces-126

The challenge for drawing this man wasn’t his face, but the funny hat he wore on his head. The face was fun to do as well, though.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 127

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 125

5 May

I didn’t have much time for this sketch, so this was to be a quick sketch, hopefully with enough precision to show what I wanted to portray.

Drawing-Unknown-Faces-125

Not too shabby, in my honest opinion.

That is all.

A rooster in color

5 May

I wanted to draw a colored sketch of a rooster. Here’s how I did it.

The first thing I did was to find a photo using zFlick on Flickr.com, and pencilled a sketch, which I scanned.

rooster-001

Next, I used the Threshold function to convert a pencil sketch into a black and white drawing (effectively an ink drawing). I did some editing with the paintbrush, removing unwanted blacks and whites, by respectively painting in pure white and pure black.

Rooster - converted into black and white

Then I used a program called Color Schemer Studio to pick colors from the original photo as my color palette and put it on the black and white drawing (converted into RGB). I used some of these colors and create three new colors, based on existing colors in the color palette, because I needed them. With those I created this colored sketch, using the original photo as a reference.

Rooster, colored end result

Now the white in the original digital image file is on a separate layer, on the bottom of the layers palette. Next is the layer which contains the colors, then the layer containing only the black of the black and white sketch, and on top is the layer for the colored lettering (Roo-ooster).

While the sketch only took me 45 minutes, I needed another 55 minutes to do the rest, and even an hour to get everything described and uploaded.

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 124

5 May

I used zFlick to search Flickr for the term “badman” (as opposed to “batman”). One of the pictures that came up was interesting enough for me to draw.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 124

As it was the first drawing of today, I approached it as a drawing exercise. I drew the outline of the man first and then added the features of the face. This is probably the wrong way to approach a sketch, because there is a sure chance you will not get the proportions of the face right. On the other hand, it forces you to get better at this early stage of sketching. How often I had to correct the width of the face in the sketch, I don’t know, but it is a lot of times.

So, without a good chance of getting it right, you are forced to use what you have and try to make the best of it, without getting frustrated. Remember how frustrated you got when your drawing didn’t resemble the original? This is something you should get through, because it is just that, a feeling. It is still a drawing, even if it doesn’t have enough resemblance in your opinion. Just finish the drawing and learn from it.

Frustration should never prevent you from finishing your drawing. It really never should.

That is all.