A rooster in color

5 May

I wanted to draw a colored sketch of a rooster. Here’s how I did it.

The first thing I did was to find a photo using zFlick on Flickr.com, and pencilled a sketch, which I scanned.

rooster-001

Next, I used the Threshold function to convert a pencil sketch into a black and white drawing (effectively an ink drawing). I did some editing with the paintbrush, removing unwanted blacks and whites, by respectively painting in pure white and pure black.

Rooster - converted into black and white

Then I used a program called Color Schemer Studio to pick colors from the original photo as my color palette and put it on the black and white drawing (converted into RGB). I used some of these colors and create three new colors, based on existing colors in the color palette, because I needed them. With those I created this colored sketch, using the original photo as a reference.

Rooster, colored end result

Now the white in the original digital image file is on a separate layer, on the bottom of the layers palette. Next is the layer which contains the colors, then the layer containing only the black of the black and white sketch, and on top is the layer for the colored lettering (Roo-ooster).

While the sketch only took me 45 minutes, I needed another 55 minutes to do the rest, and even an hour to get everything described and uploaded.

That is all.

