Archive | 8:27 pm

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 131

6 May

This woman was carrying an enormous stack of wood on her back (even bigger than in the sketch) in a stunning landscape. Because I’m more a people person than a landscape person, I decided to zoom in on the poor woman breaking her back over all that wood.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 131

It’s a rough sketch, but I think it suits the subject very well.

After I scanned the pencil drawing, I have adjusted the levels, increased the contrast and made the whites pure white.

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 130

6 May

I found this photo by using zFlick, made a sketch in 60 minutes and modified it digitally with Pixelmator on the Mac (painting the coat and the pupils), and used The Gimp, because I couldn’t find a smudge tool to smudge the plain colors for a more realistic representation of the digital colors, compared to the pencil sketch. This digital coloring took only 30 minutes.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 130

I think this is another milestone in my attempt to become an artist.

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 129

6 May

This woman with her theatrical make-up was a test for my drawing skills. Was I already proficient enough to draw it?

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 129

I guess not. At least, not yet. I guess this kind of images lends itself more for a colored pen and ink drawing, or even a full-on painting with oils or acrylic on a bigger panel (at least 30 x 40 cm).

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 128

6 May

Using zFlick, I searched for “woverine” and found this girl wearing a wolf’s head. She’s rather off-model, as is the wolf’s head. But then, this was my first drawing of the day, and I wasn’t yet in the zone.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 128

That is all.