Archive | 11:55 pm

WowWee Tri-bot drawing

10 May

This drawing started as a sketch of a pose of my WowWee Tri-bot toy robot. After I had inked this pencil sketch with a Micron, I scanned it, and changed it considerably in an image editor. I also filled it with color.

WowWee Tri-Bot

It is a very rough sketch, but the proportions are more or less correct.

That is all.

The Poor Black Cat

10 May

This drawing started as a quick sketch of one of my cats. She isn’t a black cat, but I made her black in the inking with saber brush and Indian ink. The text was written with a nib pen, through free association with the title.

black-cat-001

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 140

10 May

This digitally colored ink sketch started as a pencil drawing of a photo, which I slightly modified.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 140

That is all.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 139

10 May

On this ink sketch I did minimal digital manipulation. All I did was optimizing the image in Pixelmator. This means some of the gray values of the Indian ink are still in there.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 139

The sketch was made using a number 4 saber pencil brush and Indian ink over a pencil sketch. Aside from normal inking, I also used a dry brush technique for the mid-tones. To complete it I needed 60 minutes, including the penciling on some old and yellowish paper in a bound book with empty pages I had still lying around.

That is all.

Runner

10 May

This girl running on the beach was an attempt to render a color photo as a pure black and white drawing. The proportions are a bit off, but the overall impression is still that of a girl running on the beach.

Runner

After I pencilled a sketch, I used a number 4 saber pencil brush to go over it with Indian ink. The signature is done with a throw-away Micron ink pen. The analog drawing was scanned into my Mac, and converted into pure black and white, and retouched in places.

It seems I need a lot of practice on the pencil brush, because it didn’t turn out as I wanted to look.

That is all.

Surfer

10 May

This sketch was made with a number 8 pencil brush, so it was a bit crude. I’ve read that most cartoonists and comics artists use a number 5 or smaller. But since I hadn’t dug those up from my “art trunk”, I used the number 8.

Surfer

Again, I manipulated the drawing after I scanned it, because the Indian ink doesn’t scan as pure black on my Epson V500 Photo scanner. While I was at it, I also removed some of the ink blobs and retouched some of the parts that weren’t fully inked. Because I knew I was going to do that, I used a magnifying glass to find those spots on the original brush and ink drawing, and fill them before scanning.

While I’m writing this, I have found two smaller pencil brushes, a number 4 and something smaller (the marking has worn away of that second brush). I’m so excited to try those out and see if the artwork gets more refined with finer brushes. I have to do some preparation on those brushes, though, because they haven’t been used for many years. I have learned a technique to make most brushes fold into a point, even those crappy brushes you buy in department stores and at stationers. It involves grinding paper to remove loose hairs, and water and your fingers to form the hairs into a point, by molding and massaging them.

That is all.

Toy Lion, part 3

10 May

After I made a rough sketch of a toy lion on an old tv set, I used a pencil brush and Indian ink to draw the outer edges and the wider lines and two pupils. The inner lines I made with a nib pen and Indian ink.

Toy Lion, part 3

After I scanned the image in gray scale (600 dpi), I converted the gray tones by selecting all the whites, turn those into pure white, invert selection, and turn that into pure black. This left me with a few unwanted splashes and spots of white and black, of which I removed the most obvious ones with either black and white, respectively.

It is rather an involved process, so I really should put more effort into getting the pencil sketch right. It seems that if you ink over a rough sketch, many things can go wrong. I guess I should use a cleaned up pencil sketch as a crutch in between until I’m confident enough with my inking tools.

That is all.