Drawing Unknown Faces, part 144 – continued

14 May

I was trying some more ink sketches, to practice the drawing method that concentrates on the masses in the face, and realized I was missing something.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 144 (d) Drawing Unknown Faces, part 144 (e)

I mean the sketches are fine, but has it taught me anything about how to draw those faces from another perspective? I think not. I have browsed through my many drawing books and couldn’t find a tutorial on this. I’m sure there is, but I couldn’t find it.

I guess I have to find a technique that works for me, although I expect you need to draw a lot of people and seen enough different perspectives of the human head to intuitively know how to draw those uncommon poses and angles.

The following sketches are based on the book “Complete Guide to Drawing from Life” by George B. Bridgman. You can see I’m still having problems with this subject.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 144 (f)

The following sketches are based on a photo, trying to draw the same face from different perspectives. The top left drawing is a copy of the photo. It is still very rough and off model, but, at least, I’m trying.

Drawing Unknown Faces, part 144 (g) Drawing Unknown Faces, part 144 (h)

Gah! I’m throwing the towel into the ring again. This is going nowhere. One-hundred fourtyfour faces is not enough it seems, at least not for me. I will keep trying, though.

That is all.

