It’s A Big World

11 Jun

I decided to draw a cartoon using ArtRage 2 and my Wacom Intuos 3 tablet, and add lettering to it in GIMP.

It's A Big World, final version

My inspiration for this drawing were the Smurfs (aka Schtroumpfs). However, I soon left that notion, because those little critters are someone else’s design. The initial pose was done with a pose sketch (a few lines indicating where the limbs, body and head were supposed to go), which I built into a character, and colored in ArtRage 2.

After exporting and resizing, I cloned the top of the drawing, to add some room above the character. Next, I added the caption box, and printed the letters with an Arial Bold font. After tracing these letters, I deleted the text layer. This way the lettering still looks hand drawn.

The only thing left was to export as a TIFF file, upload that to Flickr and write my little piece of text explaining how I made the cartoon.

That is all.

