Commoonicating clearly

5 Jul

While I was thinking about and doodling longhand writing, and how it must have evolved from the Greek alphabet, it dawned upon me that writing and drawing actually are the same thing. And with writing I don’t mean putting words into sentences and stories, but the act of drawing letters on a piece of paper, so the low-level stuff, not the meaning of it, not what it stands for, but it itself, the stuff that makes the image of words.

Commoonicating clearly

I’m sure most of you think about fonts here, but I guess you could go even lower than that, because fonts are still abstracting what is going on in your mind while you’re writing longhand. No, I mean the lines and curves that make up letters.

My idea is that if you make the contrast between straight lines and curves bigger, it will be easier to read the letters, identify the words on paper, and understand what the author meant when he thought of a story to tell (or an idea to communicate) to the reader.

And sometimes you intentionally don’t want to be clear, but rather ambiguous or unclear, so the reader can participate more in the story. I wonder if you can reflect this by changing the font slightly, almost unnoticeably, perhaps pick a font that looks like the body copy, but is somewhat less clear to read.

I’m just wondering…

That is all.

