Any better after all those months?

15 Jul

The great thing about art is that you can easily see if you got better at, because it just is what it is and doesn’t need interpretation.

Here is what I did before I started learning how to draw, on December 10, 2008. Some detail, but clearly at the wrong places. Also note the blank expression in the face while I’m drawing. I’m just casually observing my own face.

Self-portrait, drawn on December 10, 2008

As you can see, six months later, a lot has changed. I’m very concentrated while drawing, studying every detail of the face, restating where I got it wrong the first time. I’ve also used helplines, which I didn’t erase, so you can see how I constructed the face.

Self-portrait, drawn on July 15, 2009

Also note that while there is less detail in the drawing, it somehow feels richer. I wonder what improvements will be in my art after another six months.

That is all.

