Cartoon heads and hairdos

25 Jul

To prepare myself for a larger piece I will do later today, I drew these cartoon faces. I got the basic face from a Dutch poster promoting 55 years of Men on the Moon (in comics that is). I think I can use this simplistic style, which turned out not be simple at all.

So I started with a simple round head, and developed a hairdo for it. I didn’t realize at that point what that hair was that partially hide the eyebrows.

cartoon heads, part 1

I also experimented with both male and female variants of the same design. Notice that in the woman in the right bottom I accidentally drew that piece of hair I mentioned earlier correctly. According to Wikipedia it is called a fringe (hair cut short and hanging over the forehead) or bangs (American English). The curling of the hair should be made clear by the inner lines in that area of the hairdo. Those don’t always run straight down, but can be slanted as well. However (stylized) you draw them, they should always have a slight curve visible in them.

cartoon heads, part 2

Next, I tried to overdo the woman’s hairdo, and see how far I could go. I think this even isn’t the most extreme I could go.

cartoon heads, part 3

Then I tried some other hairdos, finding where the illusion break. The top right could be real, but the bottom left is rather unrealistic.

cartoon heads, part 4

I think I know enough for now to try and draw the piece. I’m keeping that a secret, so you’ll have to come back and see. The only thing I can see that it is going to be a lot of work.

That is all.

