Slave Leia, part 6

28 Jul

This version of Leia was particularly hard to do, because the pose is so familiar. I had to do a lot of tweaking after I had sketched and inked her.

Slave Leia, part 6

As always, there are things in the drawing left to be improved. This is, of course, the reality of an artist of any skill level, and the reason to get better at your art. At this moment it is the best I can do. I even go as far as to claim that it is as good as if I had traced this image from the original photo. Of course, I didn’t do that, nor did I use a grid. I used constructive drawing, which supposes that you have a deep understanding of your subject matter.

The drawing from start to finish was done in roughly 5 hours. That is not to impress you, but for myself. It seems that over the months you get these kinds of things done at a quicker pace. I just want keep track of that.

The face is kept cartoony on purpose. I don’t want it to look like the person in the photograph.

That is all.

