Drawing female characters – or the male ignorance of fashion issues

1 Aug

I can only imagine how to draw women for now. According to Tom Bancroft in his book Creating Characters with Personality, which I have received a copy of today:

If you are a typical macho male, believe me, no matter what you think, you don’t know women’s hairstyles and clothing.

I guess the next drawing only strengthens that statement. Bancroft continues that you need to browse through current women’s fashion magazine to keep abreast of the latest development.

Female characters

The funny thing is, though, that if I don’t have a clue about those kinds of things, at least half of my readers won’t either.

I remember a brief discussion some time ago about wearing eyeliner. All the guys had no idea that it is an important part of young women’s make-up. And no, it does not hurt when you put it on the inside of the eyelids. Of course, you can overdo it, but most woman know when to stop and give that little bit of accentuation to their eyes. Guys won’t notice it, but girls do, among each other. It is not only guys who want to look all smart and presentable, compared to other guys, by lifting weights and such, or buying hip gadgets to poke their opponents’ eyes out with. Girls do that too, only by other means, more subtle, less immediately apparent.

Having to force myself to buy new cloths, I’m not particularly an expert on trends in fashion. That the shop I mostly buy my cloths in has the nickname Cheap and Awful (C&A) says it all I guess. Grace and elegance is something I need to acquire a taste for, if I want to be able to draw women somewhat convincingly.

Not that I’m a male chauvinist. It just hasn’t been on my radar. I’m sure I’m not the only man who has this disposition.

That is all.

