Agenize

4 Aug

In the book about character design by Tom Bancroft, there is an exercise to draw a picture of someone you know, and change their age. It can also be a famous person.

Agenize

I picked Leo Laporte for that first attempt. The original is the second from the right. Of course, this is just a first attempt, but it a fun exercise, you could try for yourself. It teaches you a lot about drawing characters and how age affects them.

Bancroft even has an exercise to use one character to build another, but not as two sibblings, but as two people who are related, e.g. mother and daughter. That must be a fun exercise to do as well.

Not mentioned in the book, but very feasible is changing the gender of a person. Before I can do that, I need to learn more about fashion and hairstyles. I have lent the magazine I mentioned in a blog post I wrote earlier today. Now I need to grok the photos inside. The magazine has a piece on generations, and how they dress. How appropriate!

That is all.

