Panda bear

11 Aug

The thing about rules of thumb to help you draw something is that it should be in the back of your mind, not in the forefront. If you start to draw formulaic, the result will be predictable and dull. So acknowledge there is a certain recommended way to look at things, throw it away completely, except for a faint rudiment of the idea, an echo of an echo. Just take the rules with a pinch of salt and lighten up. You make the rules, because you’re the Creator, the one who makes something out of nothing.

That is kind of what I tried in this sketch of a Panda.

Panda bear

I knew the head is divided into three parts, the skull (a sphere), the long part of the nose and the muzzle. I roughly indicated where the skull was, drew the eyes, which led me to the nose and then the muzzle. The torso and legs were just sketched in on sight (so-called “blind drawing”), as was the rough indication of the fur.

This isn’t a good drawing, but it is a start. To improve I think I need to make it slightly more schematic, based on what I know is underneath what I see, then in similar drawings loosen up a little, drawing slightly more freehand. As I explained in an earlier post, Construction versus Straight Ahead, there are always two fundamentally different approaches to drawing, and both are equally valid methods. They complement each other. Depending on the style you’re after, you should mix and match how you approach your subject, from the inside out, and the outside in, like a clay modeler adding pieces of clay and a sculptor hacking off pieces of stone.

That is all.

