Drawing a horse skeleton, part 1

13 Aug

To show you what complete hack I am… Let me rephrase that. To show you where I started from, here is my first attempt at drawing a horse skeleton, based on the instructions of Ken Hultgren. It really looks like crap to me, and it demonstrates what little I know about drawing animals. Things can only get better from here on.

Horse skeleton, part 1

Now I shouldn’t feel so bad, because Ken Hultgren is an excellent draftsman of horses. To even approach him at 10 percent of his skill level would be awesome.

As Hultgren writes in his book The Art of Animal Drawing: “Once you are familiar with the relative sieze of the various bones, drawing becomes easier.” Familiarity takes time and practice. Well, I have a few weeks before the next session drawing cartoons dogs based on examples by Preston Blair. I should get cracking and draw lots of skeletons.

In the meantime I will also be trying to wrap my brain around Mattesi’s book about dynamic life drawing (“Force”). I thought I understood his ideas, but when this morning I reread the same passages I was so inspired by yesterday late at night, I had no clue what he was talking about. I have no idea what has happened there. Matessi’s approach is radically different, because he doesn’t come from the cold calculating observer who scribbles something in his or her sketchbook, but from the compassionate artist who is in awe about the human model, who stands for the portraying artist and the whole of humanity, and tries to capture that awe onto paper.

That is all.

