Drawing animals

15 Aug

In roughly 50 minutes I made three sketches, based on illustrations in the book The Art of Drawing Animals by Ken Hultgren. I started with the skeleton of a horse, constructed using the instructions in the book. It was done in carpenter’s pencil.

Horse skeleton, part 3

Not particularly impressed by the result, I tried some sketches of a tired horse.

Horse, part 1

That didn’t really jazz, so I tried some other animals.

Animals, part 1

It was somewhat better, but not by much. This technique of drawing by construction is just too new for me. I have to take the time to get comfortable with it. Until now, I’ve more drawn from observation.

That is all.

One Response to “Drawing animals”

  1. lesliepaints August 16, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    You are doing a phenomenal job of teaching yourself to draw. The thing about using shape to build something up is more of an advanced skill because you still have to put those other lines on there that you are trying so hard to emulate. It makes you go back to ground zero once again……..Plus, most people copy the figures in the book and never get it from other subject material. Have you looked at Keys to Drawing and Drawing with Imagination by Bert Dodson?

Comments are closed.

