Loosely sketched animals

18 Aug

Today I decided to make some loose sketches of animals, just to keep the fun level up. Drawing from construction is useful, but not as much fun (yet) as drawing from observation (or memory).

I started with sketching one of my cats, resting, but aware of my presence. The drawing is done with a carpenter’s pencil and darkened after scanning.

Cats, part 18

This horse was drawn from imagination, not with a particular photo or drawing in front of me. I used an ordinary B pencil, and darkened the sketch after scanning.

Horse, part 2

These two dogs are the same dog I drew from the cover of Ken Hultgren’s book The Art of Drawing Animals, with B pencil, darkened after scanning.

Dog, part 1Dog, part 2

All were fun drawing experiences, and that is important if you want to keep doing it. Because if it isn’t fun, why bother doing it over and over again?

That is all.

