More caricature drawing preparation, part 4

17 Sep

I’m noticing that it takes a few pages (A3 size, 297 by 420 mm) of drawings before I get into the spirit of drawing, and even more to get into the spirit of stylized drawing. However, I’m also noticing that you can get deeper into that state of mind if you practice each day for at least an hour.

The point of all these exercises is to find a quick way to get into that special mindset that artists call “flow”. Flow is where you forget about your personal life and get lost in the creation process. The next drawing is when I started getting into that state.

more caricature prep, part 4

I made a few mistakes, but that doesn’t really matter, as long as those mistakes are easy to correct (correction fluid in my case) and the focus is on the overall impression you want to convey.

I’m not there yet, but I’m getting closer. I can smell it.

That is all.

2 Responses to “More caricature drawing preparation, part 4”

  1. Reliant September 17, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    Very nicely done, keep at it!!

    • Rene September 17, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

      Thanks! I will.

Comments are closed.

