Drawing is more like a marathon than a dash

21 Sep

When sketching one of the Gibb brothers, it dawned upon me that drawing is more like a long distance event (e.g. a marathon), and less like a sprint event (e.g. a 100 m dash). Again, I’ve set myself too high a goal, something which isn’t achievable at my current skill level.

more caricature prep, part 11 (version 3)

No, it’s not the drawing itself, but those 20 sketches in one day, “with some effort” (meaning, not done in a few minutes). Suppose each sketch would take me 30 minutes, then we are talking about drawing 5 hours straight. That isn’t asking much, it is asking the impossible. I would have cramps from drawing and run the risk of permanently injuring my wrists and shoulders.

Just as with running, you should build your “drawing muscles”, get used to long days of drawing. You don’t start with a 2 hour run, but rather with a 20 minutes run with lots of breaks for walking. The aim should always be on the long term.

So, I’m changing today’s assignment to a week assignment. This week I want to have at least 20 sketches done with a certain level of quality in them. By the end of the week I should be more ready to draw caricatures than I’m right now. I should have some notion of the proportions of the facial features, and recognize what makes each face so special. That skill is in my opinion a prerequisite for stylized drawing, be it caricature or cartoon drawing. If you know what makes an object tick, visually speaking, it is much easier to draw it.

I’m sure in a few months’ time, I will be quite amused by all this, because at that point, I’ll be making lots more drawings, or just as many, but technically much better.

Practice makes perfect, but you should never overdo it, because that takes the fun out of drawing. We can never have that. It should always be a somewhat enjoyable experience to draw.

That is all.

