Today’s assignment

21 Sep

Today’s assignment is to do 20 sketches with some effort, based on photos in the media, either online or offline. I will only post a few of them, so I’m completely free to mess things up.

More caricature prep, part 11 (version 1)

Messing things up is important, because it’s at those times you stop and think why it went wrong. However, showing all your mistakes to others is not good for the soul. You’ve gotta have some room for privacy as an artist, as a springboard to get to the next level. I’m sure most artists have drawings they would never share with anyone, even (or perhaps, in case of autobiographical material, especially) their spouses or close friends.

Well, after I had written that and drawn my second sketch, I was so pleasantly surprised by the result, I had to share this with you. I like the expression in the face of this guitarist.

More caricature prep, part 11 (version 2)

That is all.

