Copic markers have arrived

25 Sep

So my Copic Ciao markers arrived by mail order, and I couldn’t resist trying them out. I only ordered the colors that are useful for coloring faces, so clothing and such have to be done with these colors as well, for now.

I only used a few colors on this sketch. Except the black from the Faber-Castell markers, I used E00, E11 and E35 for the face and ears, R20 and E35 for the lips and R20 and E04 for the shirt, if I recall correctly. I guess I should develop some kind of system to notate which colors I used, so I can refer to it later.

More caricature prep, part 11 (version 13)

After I had done the coloring, I noticed two things:

  1. it is easy to leave white spaces
  2. the color bleeds through the page

The first simply means you have to be meticulous about your coloring and don’t miss a spot, especially with the “foundation color” (the lightest color in the face). The second means you have to put a piece of paper underneath your drawing to prevent it from ruining the paper underneath. One could use thicker paper, but that would only suck marker fluid into the paper, bleaching the color from the surface. I think a disposable piece of paper underneath leads to better result.

That is all.

