Explorations into wolfiness

28 Sep

I’ve started a new series on drawing wolves. Here’s the first rough sketch I did.

Explorations into wolfiness, part 1

That’s nice, but only that, nice. I want to do better than that.

Explorations into wolfiness, part 2

Now, that wasn’t very helpful, so I decided to look into my many books about drawing for guidance. I found help in the form of the following basic sketch of a wolf’s head.

Explorations into wolfiness, part 3

Using that, I tried to recreate a photo reference, and that went surprisingly well.

Explorations into wolfiness, part 4

This is always the hardest part of drawing anything: finding out what is the underlying structure. Once you’ve got that, you can try to improve the features, have more feel for your subject, and practice, practice, practice. However, those are incremental improvements. It’s that first big step of understanding your subject most people get stuck on, including myself, and which, once taken, gives a sudden leap in how real your drawing looks. It’s like a light switch is flicked, and a light bulb appears just above your head: Eureka!

I’m just glad I have an extensive enough collection of art instructional books so I seldom get stuck. And if I do, there’s always Google to find an additional resource for that one teeny missing piece of the puzzle, which makes you think: Why didn’t I see that before?

That is all.

One Response to “Explorations into wolfiness”

  1. gonzalexx September 28, 2009 at 11:31 pm #

    Extremely cool of you to show process.
    Looking forward to more of your work.

Comments are closed.

