Mark Rudolph (part 1)

29 Sep

There are many people called Mark Rudolph, but the one I’m referring to is the comic book writer and artist from Michigan, USA. You should certainly check out his website at markrudolph.com, especially if you like barbarians and/or heavy metal music.

I wanted to draw him as Dogmatix, the dog of Obelix, of the comic strip Asterix and Obelix. I hope I can show you how such a thing could be done. I have seen other arists draw animals that resemble people, but nowhere I have read how they did that, if there was some method they used. I guess they made many revisions and where much more skilled at drawing than little old me.

Here is the photo on Flickr I based my sketches on. Mark is the one on the left in the photo.

credit: HoovracommandeR

The first quick sketch of Mark was made in a few minutes.

Mark Rudolph

Then I drew Dogmatix and tried to draw Mark more in the style of Asterix and Obelix, with rounded eyes, and an overall more cartoonier look

Mark Rudolph, part 2

I think I can’t finish this project today, or even tomorrow. It needs several revisions before I’ll get it right and can convert Mark’s face to Dogmatix’s face, while Mark’s features are still clearly visible in the end result.

One thing is for sure. Both Dogmatics and Mark have a mind of their own and don’t always follow conventions. That is what I like about them and why I think they are so much alike.

That is all for now.

