Poking fun

5 Oct

Today I saw a beautiful huge dog, bound to a bicycle rack, clearly waiting for his owner. He seemed a bit malnourished, his abdomen clearly collapsed. Whatever the case may be, I didn’t have a sketchpad with me to draw him.

Judging from the following sketch that probably would not have been a good sketch anyway.

Wolves, part 7

It seems if you take something too seriously, it backfires on you. My brain shut down on the drawing skills and it felt like I suddenly couldn’t draw at all. So I thought, what the heck, I just draw and see whatever comes out.

I’m glad that I did that, poking fun at my subject, because it gave some relief from the over-concentration on the subject. If you try too hard, and don’t have any fun, your art suffers. On the other hand, if you are having too much fun and aren’t serious, your art suffers as well.

I can understand why people give up so easily on drawing and art. I’m quite sure many have tried and failed. I guess they were either too serious about what they were doing, or they weren’t prepared to spend some serious brain-time on visualization.

It is a tender balance between play and study.

That is all.

PS I’m green with envy when I read people only have drawn for a year and draw ten times better than me. However, it turns out they only draw what they are good at and avoid all other subjects. I would be bored stiff if I had to limit myself to only one or two subjects.

