Form exploration, part 3

7 Oct

I think that if you’re good at drawing, you’re good at putting individual forms onto paper and combine them into something that expresses your vision of a subject. It is both the shaping of individual forms and the combination of those forms into an image which throws many people off, especially if you take notice of what you’re doing, because of outside pressure (not wanting to fail).

Wolves, part 8

The psychology of the draftsperson, the integration of the parts and the parts themselves define your drawing. If you’re serious about your art –which I am– you will try to tackle all three areas.

In the above drawing I’m trying to learn how a particular image, that of the wolf, is constructed. I use a book as my guide, which is perhaps not the best guide, but it is always available. A human teacher would probably be much better, and I have tried to find him or her, but in my local town there seem to be no illustrators who offer their services as an instructor. More than enough art instructors willing to be paid to teach you self-expression, though. Art does not equal illustration, which isn’t art for art’s sake, but visual art as a part of a larger whole, serving a specific purpose instead of just being there. It is this purpose driven art that art instructors don’t seem to grasp.

Ah well, I muddle on, with my art instructional books, in the hope something of the ideas of the author stick in this thick gooey mass that inhabits my skull. Learning is hard work and requires time and attention of the one who is doing the learning.

Or perhaps I’m just being stubborn.

That is all.

