Beardus Maximus fan art, day 16

21 Oct

Being a geek in a primarily non-geek world is hard, but being a ghost in a ghost unfriendly world is even harder.

Beardus Maximus fan art, day 16

This fan art was made to support the comic book Rebootus Maximus, and to save a beard. Want to know what that beard saving is all about? Read Beardus Maximus on the PC Weenies blog.

How it was made

Because I know that there are people who are curious about how I create my art, here is brief explanation.

I started out by sketching an idea with pencil and paper.

Beardus Maximus fan art, day 16, sketches

I wasn’t sure how the paneling was going to be, so I just started drawing in blue pencil. Some of the art was redrawn, the poses of Ghost-Bob were traced from the original sketch, using a window as a light source.

Beardus Maximus fan art, day 16, panel 1 and 4Beardus Maximus fan art, day 16, panel 2 and 3

I used A3 (297 by 420 mm) photocopier paper (cheapest I could find), which I folded in half, because my scanner is only capable of scanning A4 (210 by 297 mm). Each half could hold two oblong panels, each 140 by 200 mm, portrait orientated. The color pencil had a light-blue color.

The panel borders were inked with a big size Faber-Castell PITT brush pen, and the inside artwork with the regular size Faber-Castell brush pen. Any mistakes I made were corrected with white acrylic paint and a brush (no water added). I didn’t use a ruler for the borders, to give it a hand-drawn look.

After the artwork was color-scanned at 300 dpi, I separated the scans into CMYK layers in GIMP. The C, M and Y layers were cleared, while the black K layer was retouched and turned into pure white on black. Any specks were retouched, and the CMYK layers reverted back into a single layer.

Now I made a canvas that could fit all four panels, imported the files, and rearranged the panels as you see them in the final version. Then I colored the panels and added the lettering.

That is all.

