Drawing cars, version 0.0.5

8 Nov

If you want to draw something well, I found that you have to be emotionally invested into your subject, either because you love the subject, or you love drawing the subject.

If you don’t love the subject, you need to find a way to love drawing the subject, and the most obvious way to do that is to challenge yourself. One of such challenges I try to set myself is to draw each version of a subject a little better than the last version.

But what defines better, you might say? Well, I think better is when I notice details I didn’t see before, or when I’m able to draw a certain curve (or straight line) with confidence. So, it is not so much the result, but the process which I use to see if I have improved.

In short, if you want better drawings, immerse yourself in the process of drawing. Find new techniques or ways of looking at your subject (or what shortcuts to use for a similar result).

Drawing cars, version 0.0.5

At version 0.0.5 of this Dodge Stratus I’m pleased I kind of got the proportions right and I drew most of the details much better than previously (version 0.0.4).

I used a 0.5 mm Pentel blue lead in a mechanical pencil to do the pre-sketching and traced the blue line with regular HB black lead pencil (the wheel wells were filled in with 4B lead pencil).

That is all.

