First attempt at drawing kittens

10 Nov

I want to create a strip around kittens, but before I can do that, I need to be able to draw kittens with some kind of proficiency. I mean I don’t expect great art, but the art should at least carry the story.

So here is my first sketch of a kitten from imagination. The body exists, as with all four-legged animals of three parts, the front part with the front legs, the hind part with the hind legs, and the middle, mostly softer part, which contains the main organs, like the heart, lungs and guts.

kittens first attempt

Then I had a go at a drawing from reference, which wasn’t really on model, not by a long shot. Some parts are good, though, like the toes on the hind legs. I clearly need guidance on cat anatomy for artists.

kittens from photo reference

I will be sketching some more kittens, and probably dive into my own photo archive, because I have lots of pictures of kittens, having been a Abyssinian cat breeder for several years.

That is all.

