Trying a fictional long form text

16 Nov

Because of a particular illness I have, I have noticed that I’m having a hard time remembering story lines and characters in novels, as I have with understanding complex situations and remembering people’s names in real life. Still I want to write a long-form text of at least 50,000 words, which has been touched by my imagination.

The solution I have come up with is to copy texts from Google News modify those with LetterMess, Thesaurus.com and my limited knowledge of the English language. This still qualifies as a novel on NaNoWriMo. However, I can only do 1 hour per day of this, and the first four sentences (164 words) took me that long. So 50,000 words would require me to spend 305 days on this project, while November has only 30 days.

It doesn’t sound like much fun, but it’s all what I could come up with.

That is all.

PS This pretty much seems to rule out the category of long-form storytelling for me. I didn’t understand why I did not enjoy those longer stories as much as the short ones. The limit seems to be around the 20 page mark in comics. Any longer, and I have to take notes to be able to make sense of the story. Movies longer than 30 minutes are mostly lost on me, story-wise. For me, Star Wars is mostly about playing that cool music and laser swords. I’m sure there is some story in there, but I can’t discern any. I just enjoy the mini-stories contained in them, but can’t see the overreaching storyline, because it’s just too darn long.

Think about watching a 48 hour long movie in one sitting. That is roughly how a 1.5 hour movie feels to me. At some point you lose track of the story and everything becomes a blur.

P.P.S. I just described how I should watch a Hitchcock movie: with a notepad on my lap. I have to watch each scene, separately, several times. First just to watch, second to take notes, third to check my notes.

I just want to know why people are so enjoying those flicks. I just never understood any of the excitement.

