Preston Blair heads

22 Nov

While trying to develop my animal characters, and having discovered I’m having problems drawing humans as they would appear if they were a certain animal, I’ve returned to an instructional book written by Preston Blair.

Preston Blair, sketch 4

Obviously, if you try to copy a drawing from a book, you need to place the helper lines at the correct positions. If you don’t (as I hadn’t), the expression becomes completely different. So it seems you have to pay attention to such details if you want a consistent look in your character.

BTW I’m still having problems drawing a circle freehand. I have to turn the paper to check the dimensions and the curves. A typical circle like I used in the sketches above takes 3 to 5 minutes. No circles in one fell swoop at this moment, at least not by me.

That is all.

