Preston Blair inspired drawings, part 7

25 Nov

While on the surface most of these faces look very much alike, in reality they are different, too different for my critical eye.

Preston Blair inspired drawings, part 7

I guess it is important to draw on model, especially in animation drawing. This is I think the third sheet of egg shaped smiling faces I did since my previous post. One could say, get on with it, just go to the next exercise. However, I think being able to draw consistently is an important distinction between drawing for leisure and drawing more seriously (or even professionally). I’ve got to figure out this “draw on model” thing.

One of the things I’m struggling with is the precise shape of the egg form. The best I can come up with is to start with putting light pencil markings where the top and bottom of the egg shape is, and where the widest points left and right are.

Again, this is not enough. You also have to imagine how the shape looks if it were a three dimensional form, a true egg, like you buy at the grocery store. After all, you want to draw the egg shape from all sides, and fill it with the features in correct perspective. Perhaps I should use a real egg and do some sketches from different angles to get a better feel for egg perspective. I could even imagine drawing a face on a hard boiled egg, and draw that as well on paper.

Wrapping my head around seeing flat images as three dimensional is hard. For instance, when I study my cat’s heads close up, I try to imagine how the head would look from a different angle. Then I check to see if I was right. Sadly, I’m mostly wrong at this point.

I can only hope something will “click” at some point and turn on the 3D-light.

That is all.

