Live drawing on Ustream on March 8, 2010

8 Mar

Vodpod videos no longer available.
more about “Live drawing on Ustream on March 8, 2010“, posted with vodpod

watch on Ustream

Drawn live on Ustream.tv on March 8, 2010

I bought some art supplies and tested them out in a live drawing on Ustream. I noticed that pencil markings hardly show up on the web cam, so I wanted to test what kind of pencil was a good replacement.

I tried a carbon pencil, which had the same blackness (or lack thereof) as a black lead pencil. It was the charcoal pencil that was a big hit. It has some limitations, like smudging, but I guess that’s just a matter of how you draw.

The coloring part was a hoot, because I used coloring markers for children. Those are often in very bright colors and not very subtle. This meant my drawing wasn’t really very subtle as well, at least the coloring of it.

As the finishing touch I outlined the T-Rex with the same charcoal pencil. This clearly made it pop.

